25. Extraordinary Tales (2015)

This is our second animated offering and is, I believe, quite appropriate. We have been focusing on recent horror movies, and while this is a recently produced film, the material is drawn from the original master or horror, Edgar Allan Poe. A labor of love from animator Raul Garcia, presented are five of he best known and beloved tales of the macabre, artistically illustrated and lovingly narrated by some of the greatest names in horror, including Christopher Lee, Bela Legosi, Roger Corman, and Guillermo del Toro.

So, as Halloween approaches, let’s use this film to remind us of the real reason for the season: mortal terror and our inevitable doom.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 25. Extraordinary Tales (2015)

  1. JDieFledermaus says:

    I had a couple different large collections of the works of Edgar Allan Poe that I read pretty regularly growing up which I think shaped the foundation of my view on horror stories and what I enjoy about them. Which is to say, this movie was pretty much a sure thing for me.

    The storybook style of animation was great if a bit unpolished. I don’t think I could have asked for a better set of a narrators. If I had to pick a favorite, though, it would hands down be Christopher Lee.

    End of the day, this was great and I hope it serves to generate some interest in bringing more of Poe’s work to the big screen down the road.

Mouth Off

